Community and Baseball

7 Nov

So it’s been a while since I’ve blogged – because, life. And I’m steering away from my typical tech posts to share an amazing experience I had over the weekend.
If you’re friends with me on FB you know I LOVE The Skimm. Every morning I look forward to getting my news for the day from The Skimm. When you share The Skimm enough, you get invited to be a part of a private FB community of Skimm’bassadors. This is where the goodness of Skimming happens. We’re 8,000 strong and use each other for advice, recommendations, celebrations, post things that we don’t want to post on our personal accounts, etc. It’s like having 8,000 best friends you’ve never met in person.

So, I was perusing my feed and this post popped up:

skimm-post

This wall. I’d seen the pictures. Names, written in chalk, of loved ones who loved their Cubbies, but missed the chance to see them shine. Names overlap covering every inch of every brick. People sharing chalk, taking pictures, touching the name they wrote, remembering their grandma, grandpa, uncle, son cheering on their beloved Cubbies, telling stories, staring at the bricks or at the sky. If you haven’t been there yet, go.

The post came through the night before the big parade. The rest of my family were already down there, but had just left to come home. We had plans to watch the parade and I knew we’d be in Wrigleyville on Saturday, too.  So, the thing about a post like this is that it catches on. What started as one name of a passed Cubs fan turned into 12 amazing stories of hope and love and loss.

12 names. 12 stories. 12 legacies.

I couldn’t let my Skimmies down. What brought together a community of 8,000 from across the world? A wall….in Chicago….at Wrigley Field….for a baseball team….a World Series Championship baseball team.

It still gives my chills. Not just the win, but the impact that win has had on people in my family and beyond.

I made it down on Saturday. We first walked around the whole stadium, watching people write names, post pictures and think about the whirlwind of the previous 4 days. My husband, Jay, had to write the majority of the names (I make him do the craziest things sometimes).

img_9948 img_9953

img_1867

All 12 names we wrote are on this section of the wall on Sheffield

All 12 names we wrote are on this section of the wall on Sheffield

This was more than just a good deed for my Skimm’bassador friends. I’m still amazed by the posts – “this would make their family’s day,” “it would mean so much to the whole family,” “this would mean the world to her,” “I’m in tears right now! You have no idea how much this means to me.”

But I think I am starting to know how much this means to them.

45e96674-9fc3-412e-8053-1db917059b42

 

 

3 Responses to “Community and Baseball”

  1. Tanya November 7, 2016 at 5:52 pm #

    Thank you so much for honoring my friend’s grandpa and her family. He’s surely smiling down from heaven – he likely orchestrated the win ; )

  2. Jay November 7, 2016 at 6:45 pm #

    Love you, babe. It was fun. And it’s what we were made for…

  3. Lauri November 7, 2016 at 7:04 pm #

    Megan,
    The heavens are smiling down on you, again!

Leave a Reply

