2015 Book Award Nominations

27 Mar

It’s one of my favorite times of the year – the book award lists are out!  This is when I spend about 20 minutes updating my GoodReads bookshelves, adding all of the nominees, gushing over the ones I’ve already read and getting excited for my summer reading list.

 

The 2015 Monarch Award Master ListMonarch-Logo is something that’s new for me to be checking out.  Having several little ones at home to read to and now having teaching responsibilities that span Kindergarten through 5th grade, I should be looking closer at picture books.

I’m very excited to read Me…Jane, written and illustrated by Patrick McDonald.  This book was already on my To Read GoodReads bookshelf from a previous Kirkus Review book review.  I expect Mo Willems’, That is Not a Good Idea, to keep kids entertained and Nic Bishop’s, Snakes, to wow them with new learning.

 

BluestemLogoThis past year was the first year I started reading all of the Bluestem books.  The Rebecca Caudill books were sometimes at too high of a reading level, so I would provide a hybrid list of Bluestem and Caudill’s to help students meet their goal of reading 20 nominated books.   The 2015 Bluestem Book Award List has a mix of newer published books and some classics!

So far, I have read Frindle, Small Steps: The Year I Got Polio, Gregor the Overlander, WonderstruckShiloh and Night of the Twisters (anyone remember heartthrob Devon Sawa in the movie version….anyone?).  I have a pretty good start on this list and I can’t wait to read Katherine Applegate’s, The One and Only Ivan (that’s been a popular check out in the LRC this year).

 

caudill_logoThe 2015 Rebecca Caudill Master List has some gems that have me eager to read.  I have, surprisingly, not read any of these books, but I have heard great things about a lot of them.  The One and Only Ivan is also on the Bluestem list.  I really enjoyed Will Hobbs’ Crossing the Wire (RC nominee in 2010), so his new book Never Say Die will be one of the first that I read.  Jennifer Nielsen’s, The False Prince, is the first installment of the Ascendance trilogy.  You’ve gotta love a good trilogy.  A Long Walk to Water, by Linda Sue Park, is based on a true story of two children living in Sudan during two different decades and how their lives intertwine in the future.  Park has been a contributing writer for the 39 Clues series and also wrote Project Mulberry (a 2009 Rebecca Caudill nominee).

Well, that’s my quick run-down of this year’s nominated books.  We’re still waiting for the Caldecott and Newbery award lists, so expect another quick post on those books, too!  Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

